Show full size 924Board.org
Discussion Forum of 924.org

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Technical FAQ924 FAQ (Technical)   Technical924 Technical Section   Jump to 924.org924.org   Jump to PCA 924 Registry924 Registry

Recovery & Restoration of '80 931 in storage for 17 yrs.

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Gatornapper  

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2021 2:21 am    Post subject: Recovery & Restoration of '80 931 in storage for 17 yrs. Reply with quote

Thought I'd start a new thread here as I know I'll be having tons of questions on getting this car running and on the road.

I am a seasoned mechanic but never professionally, but been wrenching vehicles of all kinds for almost 60 years and have a full shop....almost finished restoring a sweet '76 914 after 4 years and over 400 hours of B,S & T's....all worth is.

Car was stored properly in dry building, under car cover, full tank of gas, for 17 years and is in incredible condition. Engine starts instantly on ether & runs smoothly & sounds great - but at my insistence owner only did it for 30 seconds....as I was 400 miles away. Owner moved from Ohio to CA, but later returned. Bought car in '86, thinks he was 3rd owner. Car put in service on 5/25/1980.

Car does not have M471 pkg, but many of its parts like 23mm front and 14mm rear sway bars, leather-wrapped steering wheel, Pasha interior (interior in very good condition). Wheels are 15" w/rear drum brakes, but I may be able to live with that as I'll not be tracking the car, but driving it for my own enjoyment. But I will push it as I do my other Porsche's on the twisty roads where I live between Richmond and Charlottesville VA.

Both fuel pumps are bad, want to eliminate in-tank pump - have read that there is no problem with doing that.

Is that true?

TIA,

GN
Gatornapper