Show full size 924Board.org
Discussion Forum of 924.org

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Technical FAQ924 FAQ (Technical)   Technical924 Technical Section   Jump to 924.org924.org   Jump to PCA 924 Registry924 Registry

Question about torsion bar delete
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    924Board.org Forum Index -> Performance Upgrades
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Munky  

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 1:12 am    Post subject: Question about torsion bar delete Reply with quote

Please take a deep deep breath and remember I'm a noob to 924s

Thanks

Now if you are still there and willing to give me some advice please

I've had VW bugs since I was 17 (in my late 40s now) and sold my last big boy VWs last year (a 66 912 and a VW 356 kit with IRS) so I've lived with torsion bar pain and TBH not a great fan.

I've seen some of the informed suppliers of 924 parts (that it seems safe to Trust their advice and products) sell torsion bar delete kits. Are these safe? I wouldn't do it on any of my former VWs as two miles down the road I would expect the rear end to be dragging and the shocks punched through.

Is this really plausible and safe on a 924?

I've also read that the torsion bar delete works on the 'S' as it has 944 suspension. How plausible is it to swap out the 944 pre 85.5 suspension into an early 924 and do a torsion bar delete?

Are there areas of the chassis that would need strengthening? Is it a plug and play kind of thing? As I don't have a 924 yet, I'm not sure how the rear suspension mounts with shocks and can't seem to find any comparison pictures between the 924S set up and the standard 924 that seem to answer the question.

Thanks
nickthompson  

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote